Use KleenSlate Dry Erase Paddles and Talk More with Your Kids: Review and Giveaway

Welcome to the Hoppin’ Halloween Giveaway Hop hosted by MamaNYC! The silly season is just around the corner, so a group of over 90 bloggers have decided to get together to offer all sorts of great prizes – you are sure to find something right for you! This event runs from October 25-31st so you will definitely have plenty of time to enter all of our giveaways. So first off, enter my giveaway for KleenSlate paddles and then check out the giveaways on the linky below.

Good luck and Happy Halloween!

Mr P shows me how to use KleenSlate. Draw a picture, write the story on the back

My Mr P started kindergarten in September and as a former teacher, I am surprised by how involved his curriculum is. When I taught, kindergarten kids spent much more time taking part in role playing, story time, songs and physical play. Times have changed and a kindergartener has a very stringent set of milestones they need to meet, including the ability to spell what seems like a gazillion sight words, know how to count to 100 without stumbling as well as efficient writing of their ABCs.

Thankfully he had a very good start at his pre-school and already has a grasp of most of these concepts. But, of course he can always use more practice, particularly with his sight words (these are words like mom, dad, can, and, & you that he should know just by sight).

This is where the KleenSlate paddles come in. We have trialed a range of 2-sided rectangular paddles and have used them just about everyday after school.

Increase Communication with your Child

Beyond using the lined sides of the paddle to practice writing the alphabet and numbers, we’ve really been enjoying the blank side as well. Its amazing how much one little boy can open up when he is first given the option to draw the answer to something I ask him. He doesn’t have any problems expressing himself, but open-ended questions like “how was your day?” and “what did you do today?” are too complex and often only elicit a one word answer. What I’m looking for is conversation, so if I get him to draw the answer first, then he has to pinpoint in on a specific aspect of his day. Then, we’re off! He’s describing that one image in the book he read, telling me how it made him feel and who else in the class enjoyed it. It’s great! I can only imagine how well this would work with a child who is introspective or doesn’t talk much.

Next, I’ll help him write out a word or short sentence to describe his picture from the other side of the paddle. The dashed lines help him write between the lines, perfecting his penmanship.

This is such an excellent way to wind down, find out more about his day and just tap into his imagination.

 What the Mama Likes About KleenSlate

  • The colorful markers are easy to grip for my little boy’s hands. Best of all, no stinky smells that you usually get with dry-erase markers, just the bright colors kids love to play with
  • The 2 sided paddles are inexpensive and as a bonus you can extend the life of the paddle with adhesive surfaces
  • You can order just the paddles or the all-inclusive sets that include the eraser wipe attached to the handle with the marker that sits right in the handle
  • A fun interactive way for me to hang out with my Mr P. We do drawings, spell words, come up with math and spelling games and I’m sure that is just the beginning
  • The fact that a teacher invented this brilliant product. She’s working with kids all the time and obviously knows what works to help them learn and retain in a fun way
Check out the KleenSlate website for more ideas on how you can use the dry erase 2 sided paddles – from the board room, to the classroom and even in the hospital. You can also see the different variety of rectangular and circular paddles. Catch up with KleenSlate on Twitter and Facebook.
Now for the giveaway! Simply fill out the easy rafflecopter below to be in to win a prize pack of paddles, markers and erasers from KleenSlate. The only mandatory entry is your email, but of course the more options you enter, the more chances you have of winning.

a Rafflecopter giveaway





0saves
If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.
39 Responses to Use KleenSlate Dry Erase Paddles and Talk More with Your Kids: Review and Giveaway
  1. Natosha Zachary
    October 25, 2012 | 4:07 pm

    Gotta have the hand sanitizer!

  2. Terri Moore
    October 25, 2012 | 5:02 pm

    A dry erase board is the most important teaching tool I think. My son is allergic to paper…lol thanks for a cool giveaway!

  3. Georgette
    October 25, 2012 | 9:11 pm

    I like dry erase boards, no joke!

  4. gigi
    October 26, 2012 | 8:59 am

    A great backpack

  5. polly
    October 26, 2012 | 3:34 pm

    paper & pencils & backpack

  6. Erika
    October 27, 2012 | 12:08 am

    Dry Erase markers!

  7. Darlene Owen
    October 27, 2012 | 1:52 pm

    Must have is pencils

  8. Melinda Dartmann
    October 27, 2012 | 2:57 pm

    Computer. Pretty much everything relies on it now.

  9. rochelle haynes
    October 27, 2012 | 3:35 pm

    LIKE!!

  10. ANN*H
    October 27, 2012 | 4:32 pm

    A good back pack for starters . Then notebooks and pens

  11. Jessi
    October 28, 2012 | 2:48 am

    I’m crazy about the basics. I stock up on paper, pencils and crayons like they’re going out of style.
    Jessi recently posted..Reading time reminder…pity party cancelled.My Profile

  12. Golden Storm
    October 29, 2012 | 7:35 am

    good backpack

  13. melissa
    October 29, 2012 | 11:51 am

    paper and pencils!

  14. Rich Morris
    October 31, 2012 | 12:21 am

    i subscribe via email at this address: unevenfist84@live.com

  15. Seyma Shabbir
    October 31, 2012 | 1:00 pm

    A good sturdy packpack

  16. Sherry Compton
    October 31, 2012 | 7:27 pm

    pens, paper, and tape

  17. Jerneal Gelfman
    Twitter: NYCKidsbookshop
    October 31, 2012 | 10:22 pm

    We absolutely love dry erase boards in my home, Excellent learning tool! Plus, this paddle shape is neat! :)

  18. Lisa R
    October 31, 2012 | 10:54 pm

    pencils, erasers and paper

    sibabe64 at ptd dot net

  19. The minimum education requirements really are a high school diploma or
    perhaps a GED equivalent, a present valid photo ID, fingerprinting, and also information from your Internal
    Revenue Service. He wouyld be a soldier, and his primary focus must be on thhe
    mission, sometimes no matter wha the cost.
    After this, begins the real training, wherein the military
    recruit is educated in nuclear, biological and chemical defense, along with landmine protection.
    georgia department of health and human services recently posted..georgia department of health and human servicesMy Profile

  20. Sabrina
    July 24, 2014 | 7:02 pm

    It’s awesome to pay a visit this site and reading the views of all friends about this
    article, while I am also keen of getting knowledge.
    Sabrina recently posted..SabrinaMy Profile

  21. Website Analytics
    August 21, 2014 | 4:54 am

    Using creams, including Biofreeze, the carpal tunnel symptoms suffereer are experiencing, by
    incorporating degree, a numbing sense of relief
    from wrist pain. It can also bbe responsible to the movement wigh the small muscles that
    are located insiide the said area. For the first few weeks, you simply must limit your activity whilst our hands elevated above
    your heart to lessen the swelling.
    Website Analytics recently posted..Website AnalyticsMy Profile

  22. how to Get Free website advertising
    August 21, 2014 | 9:36 pm

    You don’t want to set yourself up for failure by setting unrealistic goals once you’re just starting out.
    Ideally you’ll want to give muscle tissue lots off time to rest among sets to ensure that
    you prevent training to failure. ) whkle employing
    a combination of martial arts and the Kettlebell to achieve this in a fun metnod inn which didd
    not necessarily have to have a lot of prior expertise.
    how to Get Free website advertising recently posted..how to Get Free website advertisingMy Profile

  23. Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to
    get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not
    seeing very good success. If you know of any please share.
    Cheers!
    http://diari100haridietku.blogspot.com/2010/06/diet-atkins.html recently posted..http://diari100haridietku.blogspot.com/2010/06/diet-atkins.htmlMy Profile

  24. supreme-garciniacambogia..
    September 7, 2014 | 3:55 am

    supreme-garciniacambogia…..

    Use KleenSlate Dry Erase Paddles and Talk More with Your Kids: Review and Giveaway | mama goes BAM…

  25. Black Line elite
    September 10, 2014 | 10:01 pm

    Black Line elite…

    Use KleenSlate Dry Erase Paddles and Talk More with Your Kids: Review and Giveaway | mama goes BAM…

  26. Android Apps For The PC
    September 17, 2014 | 7:42 pm

    I’ll right away clutch your rss as I can noot
    in finding your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter
    service. Do yyou have any? Kindly permit me understand so that I may jut subscribe.
    Thanks.
    Android Apps For The PC recently posted..Android Apps For The PCMy Profile

  27. fatherland germany
    September 24, 2014 | 3:10 am

    It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this topic, however, you seem
    like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks
    fatherland germany recently posted..fatherland germanyMy Profile

  28. Lindsey
    September 24, 2014 | 4:23 am

    Doctors appointment online in India is the best way for seeking medical advices from the specialist without hassles of appointments in doctor’s chamber & travel.
    Any bit of news can be used for this type of article, but when you submit articles, they need to have a news
    slant. Working from the home on the internet could be compared with the working
    in a virtual office and virtual environment where everything that exists
    now might not exist tomorrow or even after few hours.
    Lindsey recently posted..LindseyMy Profile

  29. test o boost review
    September 25, 2014 | 12:59 am

    It’s an remarkable article in favor of all the online viewers; they will
    obtain advantage from it I am sure.
    test o boost review recently posted..test o boost reviewMy Profile

  30. Kanye west style
    September 25, 2014 | 5:59 pm

    Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you, However I am having difficulties with
    your RSS. I don’t know why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anybody else getting the same RSS problems?
    Anyone who knows the answer will you kindly respond?

    Thanx!!
    Kanye west style recently posted..Kanye west styleMy Profile

  31. San Diego Electricians
    September 26, 2014 | 2:42 am

    Before looking for a electric company or a corporation. The electrical hook up took
    less then four hours. Do not wind them around anything
    or knot them. But it is also entirely easier to know which the best deal and lowest prices available.
    San Diego Electricians recently posted..San Diego ElectriciansMy Profile

  32. clash of lords 2 hack no survey
    September 26, 2014 | 9:05 am

    Hi every one, here every person is sharing such familiarity, thus it’s good to read this web site, and I used
    to visit this blog every day.
    clash of lords 2 hack no survey recently posted..clash of lords 2 hack no surveyMy Profile

  33. play.google.com
    September 27, 2014 | 1:31 am

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally,
    it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You obviously know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just
    posting videos to your site when you could be giving us something informative to read?
    play.google.com recently posted..play.google.comMy Profile

  34. buy a college degree from a real college
    September 28, 2014 | 4:18 am

    If you attend a session in a group setting, keep in mind that you will not be able to remove any item of clothing.
    Now there’s no need to add to the pile of surfboards that you have stopped riding that are being stored
    in the shed. For newbies, the colour will continue to be moist a lot more far and you
    could mistreat the surface further with the
    coarse paint brush.
    buy a college degree from a real college recently posted..buy a college degree from a real collegeMy Profile

  35. HEROES OF THE STORM BETA KEY
    September 28, 2014 | 1:50 pm

    Hi to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this webpage; this webpage consists of amazing and really
    fine data for readers.
    HEROES OF THE STORM BETA KEY recently posted..HEROES OF THE STORM BETA KEYMy Profile

  36. calgary area
    September 30, 2014 | 12:31 am

    I read this post fully regarding the resemblance of most up-to-date and previous technologies, it’s amazing article.
    calgary area recently posted..calgary areaMy Profile

  37. play.google.com
    October 2, 2014 | 12:01 am

    Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too.
    This kind of clever work and coverage! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve added you guys to
    our blogroll.
    play.google.com recently posted..play.google.comMy Profile

  38. Spirit Stones Cheats iphone
    October 2, 2014 | 2:59 am

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website.
    It’ssimple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging too
    get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appearance.
    I must say that you’ve done a great job wiith this.
    Additionally, the blog loads super fast for me on Opera. Exceptional Blog!
    Spirit Stones Cheats iphone recently posted..Spirit Stones Cheats iphoneMy Profile

  39. st christopher pendant necklace
    October 9, 2014 | 1:02 pm

    Hello, this weekend is fastidious designed for me, because this point
    in time i am reading this fantastic educational post here
    at my house.
    st christopher pendant necklace recently posted..st christopher pendant necklaceMy Profile

Leave a Reply

Wanting to leave an <em>phasis on your comment?

CommentLuv badge

Trackback URL http://mamagoesbam.com/use-kleenslate-dry-erase-paddles-talk-more-with-your-kids-review-giveaway/trackback/
About
KiwiCanadian expat adventures with my husband and 2 kids from life in New Zealand to New York and back again. Adventures in inspired family living, travel, health & fitness.Read More »