Tips for Choosing a Jogger Stroller and a BOB Revolution SE Review

I had the pleasure of testing out a BOB Revolution SE Stroller for the past couple of months and it has been fantastic! As someone who walks everywhere with my kids in between rides on the subway and even runs with them, this jogging stroller has been a great addition to our family. I only wish I had pictures of me running with her in the BOB, but sadly I would just dress her up warm and take off – we haven’t had as many warm days as I would have liked so far this year.

I was looking for something to replace our very ancient jogging stroller that served me well but had a few flaws that were telling me to kick it to the curb. First off the huuuge wheels and inability to fold it down without taking off all three tires was a big pain and waste of space for someone living in a Brooklyn apartment. All those old features that were meant to mean a more stable run with baby have been updated (for the better!) on the BOB Revolution SE. The back tires are a much more modern 16″, whereas they were about 20″ on my old model. The Revolution SE also has an easy, two-step folding, lightweight frame for convenient transport and storage – booyah!

Because it is so easy to fold down, this stroller replaces both my antiquated jogging stroller and my everyday stroller. The comfort, and ease of maneuverability means that it works equally well on uneven terrains, indoors and on sidewalks. My Little Miss enjoys the comfort of the padded seats and harness and I like the added safety of the 5 point harness,  the all important foot brake and especially the wrist strap. We’ve been able to go from walking and running on the sidewalk, to the bus, up and down subway stairs and even through grassy parks and on the beach – all with ease.

The Revolution SE ticks all the boxes as being the right jogging stroller for our family.

Check out the list below to make sure that your stroller is right for your family, if not get yourself a BOB Revolution SE, Mama Goes BAM is giving one away right now!

This is your perfect all around jogging stroller. For my last half marathon, I was able to do some training runs with Little Miss, thanks to the Revolution SE.

Features and Tips to think of when choosing a Jogging Stroller

The BOB Revolution SE checks all the boxes

  • 16″ wheels offers flexibility of different terrains for walking and running
  • State-of-the-art, adjustable suspension system provides an exceptionally smooth ride for both baby and runner
  • Accessory adapters means you can run with a carseat and add a snack tray for older kids (helps keep them occupied on runs!)
  • A five point harness is a must, especially if you will be running up and downhill
  • A large sunhood to shade baby’s eyes – the Revolution SE sunhood is adjustable
  • A simple fixed wheel/swivel wheel option to keep you rolling straight
  • Easy, two-step folding to store in your vehicle – or in m case in your house or to take on public transport easily
  • A suspension system for a smooth ride especially for uneven terrain
  • Ultra-padded, adjustable reclining seat for enhanced seating comfort – you’ll be lucky you have this when you can run for over an hour while baby sleeps
  • Large viewing window lets you keep an eye on your baby
  • Large foot parking brake and wrist strap for extra safety
  • Weight capacity: the Revolution SE holds 70lbs (including cargo)
  • Seat pockets for baby to store books and toys: The Revolution SE has 2, 1 on either side
  • Seat recline: Check that your stroller will actually do this. The Revolution SE reclines at 70 degrees
  • Alloy vs Steel? I choose alloy because it is lighter and won’t rust as quickly as steel which is important if you intend to beach it like I do!
To me the 2 most important tips for choosing your jogging stroller are to know your safety band make sure that it suits your kids. You are more likely to trip or lose control while running, so you want to make sure your stroller is fully loaded with all the safety features from harnesses to wrist straps. And comfort is a given, if baby can’t stand it then you won’t last more than a few minutes on a run. If it is truly a smooth ride, baby will be comfortable and look forward to taking off!
Be sure to check out BOB Strollers on Facebook as well as on Twitter to keep up to date with BOB.



0saves
If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.
53 Responses to Tips for Choosing a Jogger Stroller and a BOB Revolution SE Review
  1. Leona Evans
    May 1, 2013 | 1:04 am

    This would really be a nice thing to have for my upcoming baby. Now, my neighborhood is nicer and I am used to the pets etc of the neighbors. I believe I could really get into this!

  2. Stephanie L.
    Twitter: slockwood33
    May 1, 2013 | 1:08 am

    These are great tips! I wish I had thought about some of these things before investing in strollers for my kids. Now that we’re TTC Baby#3 I’ll definitely remember what’s important :)
    Stephanie L. recently posted..Galileo Summer Camps!My Profile

  3. marissa lee
    May 1, 2013 | 1:47 am

    I thank you for sharing all this information..Now i know what to look for when i go shopping for a stroller.

    • richard
      May 3, 2015 | 1:41 am

      me too, a great article here.

  4. Katie Uebner
    May 1, 2013 | 3:23 am

    I have an old Baby Jogger stroller and I can’t find a carseat adapter for it, so I can’t use it with my 2 month old. I’d love a BOB, because not only is it one of the nicest strollers out there, I could start using it right away! Also, this one has a locking front wheel and mine is permanently locked.

  5. Amy L. Norman
    Twitter: artzamy23
    May 1, 2013 | 7:05 am

    *squinting* Does it have rubber tires that can be inflated?

  6. Jen H
    May 1, 2013 | 9:04 am

    we have a hand me down graco which totally does the job… but we live in mountain lion territory and on dirt roads… so we’ve been pricing out jogging strollers just for the ease of steering and quick get-aways if needed!

  7. Lindsey
    May 1, 2013 | 9:19 am

    This would be great stroller to train for road races once the newest baby arrives!

  8. Denise Smith
    May 1, 2013 | 11:32 am

    i would love this stroller i could user it for my walks and runs

  9. Alison
    May 1, 2013 | 11:47 am

    I love this stroller – I have been eyeing the jogging-type strollers for some time because my youngest really wants to go outside and we let her, but we have to be careful with out street, etc. This would be perfect because she would get a really nice breeze and be outside and I would get my exercise. Thanks for the review!

  10. Erin G
    May 1, 2013 | 12:01 pm

    I’m having a baby in june and this would be perfect to help me jump start my jogging/running routine again!

  11. Michele R.
    May 1, 2013 | 12:07 pm

    Great info in the review. Thanks! I am due in September with my second child and would like to get a jogging stroller this time around- too many to choose from!

  12. Ashley Suzanne
    May 1, 2013 | 12:12 pm

    These are some fabulous tips!
    Ashley Suzanne recently posted..5 Reasons Why You Should Follow Me on Bloglovin!My Profile

  13. Emily
    May 1, 2013 | 1:23 pm

    Best jogging stroller around!

  14. Erika Bragdon
    Twitter: MusingsSAHM
    May 1, 2013 | 2:26 pm

    Ooh I totally love that stroller! I wish I had that when my kids were a little younger. Now, my youngest is 2 and we’re almost ready to put our stroller away.
    Erika Bragdon recently posted..How I Organized Our Coat ClosetMy Profile

  15. Chelsea @ Someday I'll Learn
    Twitter: somedayilllearn
    May 1, 2013 | 2:51 pm

    I’ve heard wonderful things about BOB, but have yet to try one myself. This looks so nice with those big huge wheels!
    Chelsea @ Someday I’ll Learn recently posted..Arbor Day ActivitiesMy Profile

  16. Becky Schollian
    May 1, 2013 | 3:19 pm

    Booyah is right!! I have Relapsing Remitting M.S. so I am still able to walk & Jog to some degree. My daughter is an advent walker/jogger. So we are out there regularly. Our Via Velo need’s to hit the curb too!! We have our second G’child baby Novalee due here in July and my daughter just finished the last testing for the severity of Down Syndrome. One of my favorite’s about this review is.. “Accessory adapters means you can run with a carseat and add a snack tray for older kids (helps keep them occupied on runs!”) Heading over to enter contest. Keep’in our fingers crossed

  17. Emily @ Baby Dickey
    May 1, 2013 | 3:59 pm

    We have this and love it! It’s so easy to use – and when Rebecca was smaller I used it as a travel system with the car seat attachment.
    Emily @ Baby Dickey recently posted..NurturMe: organic baby foodMy Profile

  18. Anne Younger
    May 1, 2013 | 4:19 pm

    What a great list of tips! I’m not a jogger but I am a walker so I know just how important a good stroller is.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Anne Younger recently posted..Joovy Caboose Too Ultralight – Baby Shower Event {Review}My Profile

  19. Jennifer @TheRebelChick
    May 1, 2013 | 4:25 pm

    My little sister had a jogging stroller when her kids were little, it wasn’t as nice as yours though! :)
    Jennifer @TheRebelChick recently posted..Iron Man 3′s Gwyneth Paltrow Interviews with Bloggers! #IronMan3EventMy Profile

  20. Olivia Rubin
    May 1, 2013 | 4:56 pm

    I see so many people with the BOB stroller and am amazed at the ease they have with it while jogging. I wasn’t sure of its ease in a daily commute, but now am with the fact that you use this on a daily commute in Brooklyn. The ease to fold it, lock it and move on a variety of surfaces makes me want this stroller even more.

  21. melanie molnar
    Twitter: mommemel
    May 1, 2013 | 7:47 pm

    I am unhappy with my stroller right now. I did not get a jogging stroller as my travel system so it can’t handle the terrain around me. So my aunt found a jogging stroller for me at a hard sell but it does not adapt for a car seat and my son is to.young to.not use the car seat. :( I need a new stroller but the bob is out of my price range. It is my dream stroller .. maybe one day

  22. T.Davis
    May 1, 2013 | 10:04 pm

    I bet this is every mother’s dream stroller. It’s perfect for working out

  23. Tannis W
    May 2, 2013 | 1:17 am

    Sounds like a great stroller. The two step fold and the safety harness sound like nice features.

  24. Amy L. Norman
    Twitter: artzamy23
    May 2, 2013 | 6:13 am

    Looking at the stroller, I discovered that the tires are inflatable! YES!

  25. Rachel R.
    May 2, 2013 | 2:01 pm

    My husband and I are looking into this stroller since we are both runners and have a baby on the way. It looks pretty versatile – thank you for the detailed review!
    Rachel R. recently posted..Back from Vacation – Sharks, eels, and stingrays, oh my!My Profile

  26. Rehannon Miller
    May 2, 2013 | 6:59 pm

    I have been wanting a BOB and have been research so your tips defiantely help…

  27. Susan Johnson
    May 3, 2013 | 3:22 pm

    A friend of mine has one of these, and it is amazing! The manufacturers pretty much thought of everything for this stroller. Talk about a luxury ride for your little one! It’s so easy to push and maneuver anywhere that it really is a pleasure to go everywhere with it. The ride is obviously quite comfortable, judging from the lack of complaints from the front seat!

  28. Danielle G.
    May 3, 2013 | 4:32 pm

    I love how adaptable this stroller is, with accessory adapters you can run with a carseat!

  29. Kelly
    May 4, 2013 | 11:25 am

    This is my dream stroller!!

  30. Angela Warren
    May 4, 2013 | 11:56 am

    Thanks for all the helpful info. Now I know what to look for in a stroller

  31. Nelda Gay
    May 6, 2013 | 2:31 pm

    I am so happy that you have used this and tried it out so we know it is a great stroller! Thank you for your time to let us all know about the product.

  32. Bekah Kuczenski
    May 7, 2013 | 12:48 am

    This stroller looks incredible! I have stroller envy right now lol! I love that it is made of alloy and I love all the safety features!

  33. Amy F.
    May 7, 2013 | 2:10 pm

    Thanks for all of the helpful tips:). I think that it is time for us to get one.

  34. Gianna
    May 7, 2013 | 3:46 pm

    Now that looks like an awesome stroller.

  35. TONI
    May 7, 2013 | 4:42 pm

    Great review.. it seems like a great stroller! My grandson would love to ride in it and it would be such a smooth ride.

  36. Renaq
    May 7, 2013 | 6:08 pm

    This stroller would be perfect for us! Yet to find a negative comment about it!

  37. Adrian Mansion
    May 7, 2013 | 6:41 pm

    The information was very helpful. I love the color shown!

  38. Jennifer
    May 7, 2013 | 9:37 pm

    I love the BOB strollers!

  39. Sylvia Ortiz
    May 8, 2013 | 4:21 am

    Love all the great features on this Jogging Stroller; can use with a carseat, add a snack tray, great suspension, easy fold-down, etc. Thanks for the great review.

  40. Elena Z
    Twitter: EleZ103107
    May 8, 2013 | 12:55 pm

    This would be a great stroller to replace the one I’m borrowing from a friend (who has now asked for it back…eeeek!!) Great review! Thanks.

  41. Rachael Henzman
    May 9, 2013 | 12:00 am

    Cool! I love how easy it is to fold up! Thanks for sharing :)
    Rachael Henzman recently posted..UpdateMy Profile

  42. samantha s
    May 9, 2013 | 2:10 am

    thanks for the review. seems to be a great stroller, i cant wait to get one.

  43. Alisa VanderKodde
    Twitter: Alisamarie1
    May 9, 2013 | 6:58 am

    I can’t wait for my BOB Revolution SE stroller!! I’ve heard wonderful things from so many and this article helps even more. This is our first child due in July, and we definitely want what is best for her, which is the BOB! We are truly excited to meet our little angel!

  44. Rebecca M.
    May 9, 2013 | 7:38 am

    This would be so great for training for the 5K I’m running this summer!

  45. Kelly Curtis
    May 9, 2013 | 10:45 am

    This is perfect for my new baby or if I run with my 2 yr old! I love how easy it folds down! I need a stroller like this to get back into shape after having a baby boy in March :)

  46. Rachel
    May 11, 2013 | 12:05 pm

    Great tips! I’ve heard about the importance of good tires but not much other than that! I’d love one of these!

  47. Manisha M.
    May 12, 2013 | 12:31 pm

    For me safety and practicality (will it fit my lifestyle)are the most important tips when buying a stroller.

  48. Lily Kwan
    May 12, 2013 | 10:45 pm

    The BOB Revolution SE Stroller looks very nice. Thanks for the interesting and informative review!

  49. bianca olivarez
    May 12, 2013 | 10:57 pm

    I’d love to try this jogger! Ready to get rid of this baby weight!

  50. bianca olivarez
    May 12, 2013 | 10:58 pm

    My husband really loves this stroller and so do I!

  51. […] Read the BOB Revolution SE Review here as well as tips for choosing your next jogging stroller. Good luck! […]

  52. Monica
    June 25, 2015 | 11:00 pm

    For me, the best stroller is Revolution SE. It’s a good fit for moms’ everyday activities. Definitely a good choice.

Leave a Reply

Wanting to leave an <em>phasis on your comment?

CommentLuv badge

Trackback URL http://mamagoesbam.com/tips-for-choosing-jogger-stroller-bob-revolution-se-review/trackback/
About
KiwiCanadian expat adventures with my husband and 2 kids from life in New Zealand to New York and back again. Adventures in inspired family living, travel, health & fitness.Read More »